clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nominations are open for the 2022-23 CC Least Cool Person of the Year

The summer tradition rolls on.

With Louisville sports finished for the 2022-23 academic year, it’s time to turn our focus here to the least cool parts of what was a — let’s be real — mostly uncool season of Cardinal athletics.

Today, we open up the nomination process for what should be one of the more interesting Least Cool Person tournaments in recent memory.

Past Champions

For the unfamiliar, here’s the group of chotches this year’s champion will be joining:

2008 - Larry Taylor
2009 - Mitch Barnhart
2010 - Steve Kragthorpe
2011 - Brandon Bender
2012 - Doug Gottlieb
2013 - Digger Phelps
2014 - FedEx
2015 - The Game 3 Super Regional Replay Officials
2016 - Andre McGee
2017 - The NCAA Committee on Infractions
2018 - The NCAA Appeals Committee
2019 - Bobby Petrino
2020 - The Coronavirus
2021 - Dino Gaudio
2022 - The NCAA/IARP

Please note that the NCAA/IARP won because of the length of time it took to adjudicate Louisville’s case. The ultimate ruling of said case might certainly has the IARP in a more positive light around here 12 months later.


We will be having an eight-entity tournament as has been the case in most years past. Voting will be limited to the polls on the site.

Who Can Be Nominated?

Remember that despite the name of the tournament, the participants don’t have to be individuals or even actual people. In fact, four of the last six champions have not been individuals.

Nominations will be taken from the comments section, Twitter, the radio show, random dudes approaching me on the street, wherever. Preference will be given to the most frequently nominated entries, but yes, ultimately myself and the esteemed and secret panel of Card Chronicle Selection Committee members get the final say.

I welcome any and all Mike Rutherford nominations. Or I’m good if we want to run it back with Hot Hot again.