clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jordan Nwora earns First Team All-ACC honors

Fellow Cardinal Dwayne Sutton was an Honorable Mention honoree.

Virginia Tech v Louisville Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Louisville junior Jordan Nwora became just the second Cardinal to be named First Team All-ACC when he earned the honor Monday morning. Donovan Mitchell was a First Team performer for U of L in 2016-17.

No other Cardinal besides Nwora — who was the second highest vote-getter in the conference — graced the league’s first, second or third teams, but senior Dwayne Sutton did receive an Honorable Mention nod.

Nwora was also the second leading vote-getter in the race for ACC Player of the Year, which ultimately went to Duke point guard Tre Jones. Cardinal junior Malik Williams was the runner-up in the voting for the league’s Sixth Man of the Year award, which went to Patrick Williams of Florida State.

Duke freshman big man Vernon Carey was actually the leading vote-getter on the All-ACC teams, but wasn’t eligible for conference Player of the Year consideration because Duke didn’t nominate it. I’ll be perfectly honest and say that I had no idea that this was how the voting worked until today, and it seems really, really dumb.

Here’s the full rundown of the 2019-20 ACC honors and awards:

2020 All-ACC Team

First Team
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 367
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 359
John Mooney, Notre Dame, 351
Tre Jones, Duke, 348
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 305

Second Team
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 234
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 212
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 209
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 200
Markell Johnson, NC State, 101

Third Team
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 98
Jose Alvarado, Georgia Tech, 87
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 79
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 69
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 63

Honorable Mention
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 58
Michael Devoe, Georgia Tech, 48
Brandon Childress, Wake Forest 44
Chris Lykes, Miami, 32
M.J. Walker, Florida State, 22
Braxton Key, Virginia, 16
Dwayne Sutton, Louisville, 15
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 11

ACC Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 34
Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 17
John Mooney, Notre Dame, 11
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse, 7
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 4
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia 2

Freshman of the Year
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 70
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 2
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 2
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 1

All-Defensive Team
Tre Jones, Duke, 64
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 55
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 55
James Banks III, Georgia Tech, 34
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 30

All-Freshman Team
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke, 75
Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 55
Landers Nolley II, Virginia Tech, 54
Cassius Stanley, Duke, 36
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 29

Coach of the Year
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State, 62
Tony Bennett, Virginia, 12
Chris Mack, Louisville, 1

Defensive Player of the Year
Tre Jones, Duke, 45
Trent Forrest, Florida State, 18
Steffon Mitchell, Boston College, 8
Kihei Clark, Virginia, 3
Manny Bates, NC State, 1

Most Improved Player
Garrison Brooks, North Carolina, 17
Olivier Sarr, Wake Forest, 16
Devin Vassell, Florida State, 16
Buddy Boeheim, Syracuse, 10
Aamir Simms, Clemson, 6
Moses Wright, Georgia Tech, 6
Prentiss Hubb, Notre Dame, 2
DJ Funderburk, NC State, 1
Jay Huff, Virginia, 1

Sixth Man of the Year
Patrick Williams, Florida State, 35
Malik Williams, Louisville, 28
Dane Goodwin, Notre Dame, 9
Isaiah Wong, Miami, 3