clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jordan Nwora named Julius Erving Award finalist

The junior is one of five finalists for the honor.

NCAA Basketball: Louisville at Georgia Tech Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

Louisville junior Jordan Nwora has been named one of five finalists for the Julius Erving Award, which is given annually to the best small forward in college basketball.

Nwora is joined as a finalist by by Corey Kispert of Gonzaga, Precious Achiuwa of Memphis State, Saddiq Bey of Villanova, and Naji Marshall of Xavier.

Nwora is the only player to rank among the ACC’s top ten in scoring (18.0 ppg, second in the ACC), rebounding (7.4, 8th), field goal percentage (.443, 7th) and three-pointers made per game (2.4, 4th). He’s scored in double figures in 26 games this season, and his 20 points and 12 rebounds against Virginia Tech on Sunday marked his sixth double-double of the season.

The winner of the 2020 Julius Erving Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five. Additional information about the telecast will be released by ESPN in the coming weeks.