clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Louisville basketball names Sutton, McMahon, Williams as captains for 2019-20

NCAA Basketball: ACC Conference Tournament-North Carolina vs Louisville Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

The Louisville men’s basketball team has named seniors Ryan McMahon and Dwayne Sutton as well as junior Malik Williams as its captains for the 2019-20 season. The players earned the distinction via a team vote.

U of L made the announcement on Twitter.

It’s a little bit of a surprise to not see potential ACC Preseason Player of the Year Jordan Nwora in this group or grad transfer Fresh Kimble, a guy who became the first three-time captain in the history of Saint Joseph’s basketball. More than anything else, this may be a nod to the fact that Kimble didn’t arrive at U of L until late May and Nwora has spent some time away playing for the Nigerian National Team.

My guess is that the three guys who were honored today were the ones who have made the most effort to bridge the gap between the returning old guys and the six-player freshman class, so props to Ryan, Malik and Dwayne on being those guys.