clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Now taking nominations for the 2018-19 CC Least Cool Person Tournament

The tradition continues.

The end of the 2018-19 athletic season means the start of the reflection/preview period for most college sports communities in America, but here it means something else: the time to decide which person, place or thing was the least cool over the course of the past athletic season.

It’s hard to believe that we’ve been doing this for over a decade but here we are. A CC tradition unlike any other, the least cool person tournament is back and now officially accepting nominations.

A few things to address before we get this ball rolling...

Past Champions

For the unfamiliar, here’s the group of chotches this year’s champion will be joining:

2008 - Larry Taylor
2009 - Mitch Barnhart
2010 - Steve Kragthorpe
2011 - Brandon Bender
2012 - Doug Gottlieb
2013 - Digger Phelps
2014 - FedEx
2015 - The Game 3 Super Regional Replay Officials
2016 - Andre McGee
2017 - The NCAA Committee on Infractions
2018 - The NCAA Appeals Committee


The plan is to go with an eight or four-entity tournament, but the format will be largely based on the number of worthy candidates, which seems like it might be lower for 2018-19 than in recent years.

Who Can Be Nominated?

Remember that despite the name of the tournament, the participants don’t have to be individuals or even actual people. All you have to do is look at the last two winners for evidence.

I’ll kick the process off by nominating Ken Langford, the home plate umpire who tossed Michael McAvene in the regional tournament for saying “that’s horrible.”