clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Reid Detmers named ACC Pitcher of the Year

The sophomore lefty was also named First Team All-ACC.

Louisville sophomore left-hander Reid Detmers has been named the ACC Pitcher of the Year, making him the seventh Cardinal in 13 years to bring home a conference Pitcher of the Year honor. Detmers joins Drew Harrington (2016) as U of L pitchers to earn the award from the ACC’s voters.

Perhaps the bigger takeaway for U of L baseball fans was the fact that Detmers was the only Cardinal who was named First Team All-ACC. This despite the fact that Louisville finished with the best record in the conference by a full two games and will be the No. 1 seed at this week’s league tournament.

Detmers was the obvious choice for the league’s top pitching honor. He enters the postseason leading all ACC pitchers in wins (11), ERA (2.42) and strikeouts (138). Through 14 starts, Detmers is also tied for fifth on U of L’s single season list in wins and second for strikeouts, just eight behind former ACC Player of the Year and Golden Spikes Award winner Brendan McKay.

Here’s the full list of honorees:

2019 All-ACC Baseball Teams

Player of the Year – Bobby Seymour, Wake Forest
Pitcher of the Year – Reid Detmers, Louisville
Defensive Player of the Year – Will Wilson, NC State
Freshman of the Year – Aaron Sabato, North Carolina
Coach of the Year – Danny Hall, Georgia Tech

First Team

C – Kyle McCann, Georgia Tech
C – Patrick Bailey, NC State
1B – Tristin English, Georgia Tech
1B – Bobby Seymour, Wake Forest
2B – Nic Kent, Virginia
3B – Drew Mendoza, Florida State
SS – Will Wilson, NC State
OF – Grayson Byrd, Clemson
OF – Kennie Taylor, DukeOF – Michael Busch, North Carolina
OF – Chris Lanzilli, Wake Forest
DH/UT – Aaron Sabato, North Carolina
SP – Reid Detmers, Louisville
SP – Connor Thomas, Georgia Tech
SP – Dan Metzdorf, Boston College
RP – J.C. Flowers, Florida State

Second Team

C – Mike Amditis, Miami
1B – Logan Wyatt, Louisville
2B – Jack Owens, Virginia Tech
2B – Cody Morrisette, Boston College
3B – Alex Binelas, Louisville
SS – Logan Davidson, Clemson
OF – Sal Frelick, Boston College
OF – Tyler McDonough, NC State
OF – Baron Radcliff, Georgia Tech
OF – Nico Popa, Pitt
DH/UT – Adrian Del Castillo, Miami
SP – Drew Parrish, Florida State
SP – Davis Sharpe, Clemson
SP – Derek West, Pitt
SP – Brian Van Belle, Miami
RP – Michael McAvene, Louisville

Third Team

C - Kyle Wilkie, Clemson
1B – Evan Edwards, NC State
2B -- Justin Lavey, Louisville
3B – Jake Alu, Boston College
3B – Raymond Gil, Miami
SS – Tanner Morris, Virginia
SS – Tyler Fitzgerald, Louisville
OF – J.C. Flowers, Florida State
OF – Connor Perry, Pitt
OF – Reese Albert, Florida State
DH/UT – Michael Guldberg, Georgia Tech
SP – CJ Van Eyk, Florida State
SP – Tyler Baum, North Carolina
SP – Xzavion Curry, Georgia Tech
SP – Mat Clark, Clemson
RP – Carson Spiers, Clemson

All-Freshman Team

OF – Sal Frelick, Boston College
2B – Cody Morrisette, Boston College
SP – Mason Pelio, Boston College
SP/DH – Davis Sharpe, Clemson
SS – Ethan Murray, Duke
DH/UT – Robby Martin, Florida State
3B – Alex Binelas, Louisville
DH/UT – Adrian Del Castillo, Miami
DH/UT – Aaron Sabato, North Carolina
SS – Danny Serretti, North Carolina
OF – Tyler McDonough, NC State
2B – Nic Kent, Virginia