clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Now accepting nominations for the 2019 Card Chronicle Person of the Year

For the first time in what feels like ages, Louisville athletics is coming off a calendar year which feels overwhelmingly positive and not just a “mixed bag.” As a result, the competition for the highest-honor in the Derby City appears to be quite fierce.

Please remember that the person of the year does not have to be an actual person (Touchdown Squirrel was a finalist a few years ago). This isn’t Sports Illustrated, it’s much, much more serious.

Here’s a rundown of the winners from previous years:

2007 - Tom Jurich
2008 - David Padgett
2009 - Vacant (we forgot to do it)
2010 - Charlie Strong
2011 - Charlie Strong and Preston Knowles (tie)
2012 - Tom Jurich
2013 - Teddy Bridgewater
2014 - Russ Smith
2015 - Kelsi Worrell
2016 - Lamar Jackson
2017 - Brendan McKay
2018 - Vince Tyra

Can Vince go back-to-back? Can one of Louisville’s popular coaches outshine the others? Are we going back to an athlete? Is this the year Don Russell finally gets his moment?

The choice is yours. Let your nominations fly.