clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jordan Nwora is a preseason First Team AP All-American

Expectations for the Louisville junior continue to rise.

ACC Basketball Tournament - Second Round Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Exactly two weeks before the start of the 2019-20 college basketball season, the Associated Press has released its annual preseason All-America team, and Louisville junior Jordan Nwora has been honored with a First Team selection.

Nwora, the preseason Player of the Year in the ACC, is joined on the AP’s First Team by Michigan State’s Cassius Winston, Marquette’s Markus Howard, Seton Hall’s Myles Powell, and Memphis freshman James Wiseman. Nwora tied with Powell as the third-leading vote-getter on the team. Winston is the first player since Doug McDermott in both 2012 and 2013 to return to college a year after being named a postseason First Team All-American by the AP.

Louisville’s last preseason First Team All-American was also its last postseason First Team All-American. Russ Smith received both honors in 2013-14.

Here’s the full breakdown of the AP voting:

Cassius Winston, Michigan State, 6-1, 185, senior, 65 of 65 votes (18.8 ppg, 3 rpg, 5.2 apg, 84.0 ft pct, 1.0 steals)

Markus Howard, Marquette, 5-11, 180, senior, 57 (25.0 ppg, 4.0 rpg, 3.9 apg, 40.3 3-pt fg pct, 89.0 ft pct, 3.5 3-pt fg/game, 1.1 steals)

Jordan Nwora, Louisville, 6-7, 225, junior, 47 (17.0 ppg, 7.6 rpg, 1.3 apg)

Myles Powell, Seton Hall, 6-2, 195, senior, 47 (23.1 ppg, 4.0 rpg, 2.9 apg, 36.0 minutes, 84.0 ft pct, 2.0 steals)

James Wiseman, Memphis, 7-1, 240, freshman, 32 (Memphis East HS: 25.8 ppg, 14.8 rpg, 5.5 blocks, 1.3 steals)

Others receiving votes: Kerry Blackshear Jr., Florida, 23; Cole Anthony, North Carolina, 10; Udoka Azubuike, Kansas, 8; Jarron Cumberland, Cincinnati, 8; Tre Jones, Duke, 6; Sam Merrill, Utah State, 5; Devon Dotson, Kansas, 4; Charles Bassey, Western Kentucky, 3; Mamadi Diakite, Virginia, 3; Anthony Edwards, Georgia, 1; Tyrese Maxey, Kentucky, 1; Reggie Perry, Mississippi State, 1; Payton Pritchard, Oregon, 1; Lamar Stevens, Penn State, 1; Isaiah Stewart, Washington, 1; McKinley Wright IV, Colorado, 1.