clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

We Are Now Accepting Nominations For The 2016-17 CC Least Cool Person Tournament

A tradition unlike any other.

The end of the 2016-17 athletic season means the start of the reflection/preview period for most college sports communities in America, but here it means something else: the time to decide which person, place or thing was the least cool over the course of the past athletic season.

A CC tradition unlike any other, the least cool person tournament is back and now officially accepting nominations.

A few things to address before we get this ball rolling...

Past Champions

For the unfamiliar, here's the group of chotches this year's champion will be joining:

2007-08: Larry Taylor

2008-09: Mitch Barnhart

2009-10: Steve Kragthorpe

2010-11: Brandon Bender

2011-12: Doug Gottlieb

2012-13: Digger Phelps

2013-14: FedEx

2014-15: The Game 3 Super Regional Replay Officials

2015-16: Andre McGee


The plan is to go with an 8-entity tournament, but if enough worthy candidates emerge, the field can be expanded.

Who Can Be Nominated?

Remember that despite the name of the tournament, the participants don't have to be individuals or even actual people. All you have to do is look at two of the last three champions for evidence.


I think there are three major storylines as we head into this year's tournament.

1) With so much carryover of uncoolness from last season to this one, will the tournament wind up looking a lot like the one we saw last summer?

2) Is the trend of non-human champions officially over?

3) Who will be the first person to say "this should have been the championship" in the comments section of every first round matchup?

With all that out of the way, it’s time to share your nominee or nominees in the comments section. The field for this year's tournament will be announced early next week, and the tournament will begin shortly after.