clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Annual Louie awards have been announced

New, 8 comments

Lamar Jackson, Brendan McKay, and Mallory Comerford were the top honorees.

Heisman Ceremony Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

Starting quarterback Lamar Jackson, pitcher Brendan McKay, and NCAA champion swimmer Mallory Comerford were the top honorees at the annual Louies awards ceremony, an event that recognizes the top performances of all athletes at the University of Louisville.

Rachel Pease, a cross country runner, won another notable award, the Inspiration award, after she helped carry an exhausted runner from Boston College down the finish line at last fall’s ACC Championships.

Here’s the full list of awards:

Adidas High Performance Athlete of the Year

Male: Lamar Jackson (football)

Female: Mallory Comeford (swimming and diving)

Louisville First Award

Brendan McKay (baseball)

Inspiration Award

Rachel Pease (cross country)

Record-Breaking Performance

Olivia Cason (women's golf)

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

Male: Will Smith (baseball)

Female: Sidney Melton (softball)

Comeback Player of the Year

Asia Durr (women's basketball)

Best Championship Performance

Individual: Mallory Comerford (swimming and diving)

Team: Men's Golf (NCAA Championship)

Moment of the Year

Mohamed Thiaw (men's soccer; game-winner versus No. 1 Notre Dame)

Play of the Year

Lamar Jackson (football; the leap over a Syracuse defense)

Best Team Win of the Year

Male: Football (vs. Florida State)

Female: Lacrosse (vs. Notre Dame)

Top Team Finish

Male: Men's Soccer (NSCAA national ranking: No. 6)

Female: Swimming and Diving (CSCAA national ranking: No. 8)

CardsCARE Individual

Male: Daniel Fecteau (swimming and diving)

Female: Lauren Kelly (lacrosse)

Cardinal Dames CardsCARE Team

Male: Football

Female: Soccer

Cardinal Cup

Women's Rowing

Cunningham Family Leadership Award

Male: Tim Kubel (soccer)

Central Cardinal Club Leadership Award

Female: Maryssa Becker (softball)

Outstanding Senior Spirit Award

Pep Band: Shelby Rich

Cheer: Anjelica Cirone

Ladybirds: Lauren Dale

Highest Senior GPA Award

Lotta Kahlert (field hockey)

Claire Noser (women's track and field)

Freshman of the Year

Male: Christopher Morin-Kougoucheff (tennis)

Female: Minout Mink (field hockey), Dorcas Wasike (cross country)

Sophomore of the Year

Male: Brendan McKay (baseball), Donovan Mitchell (basketball)

Female: Ayeisha McFerran (field hockey)

Junior of the Year

Male: Corey Ray (baseball)

Female: Myisha Hines-Allen (basketball)

Ed Kallay Senior of the Year

Male: Robin Sciot-Siegrist (golf), Grigory Tarasevich (swimming and diving)

Female: Kaylin Morissette (lacrosse)