clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lamar Jackson named Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week

Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

The honors continue to pile up.

Following another record-breaking performance, University of Louisville sophomore Lamar Jackson has been named the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week, the Davey O'Brien Foundation has announced.

In Louisville's 62-28 win over Syracuse on Friday night, Jackson became the first player in FBS history to pass for 400 yards and rush for 175 yards in a game. His 610 yards from scrimmage (411 passing, 199 rushing) set an ACC record.

In moving his team to 2-0 overall, Jackson completed 20 of 39 pass attempts for a career-high 411 yards and one touchdown -€” a 72-yard strike to James Quick to open the game. On the ground, Jackson carried 21 times and also set a Louisville record for most rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with four.

Through two games, Jackson has thrown for 697 yards (37-of-62) and seven touchdowns, while rushing 32 times for 318 yards and six scores. He currently ranks among the nation's top 10 in both rushing yards (3rd) and passing yards (8th). In addition, Jackson leads the NCAA in points responsible for (78) and is second in total offense (507.5).

He is the lone player in the country to be named to the Davey O'Brien "Great 8" both weeks this season.

The native of Pompano Beach, Fla., is the second straight ACC player to win the weekly honor, following Florida State's Deondre Francois. The two quarterbacks will be on opposing sidelines Saturday in a matchup between two top-10 teams.

All FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the weekly award, which is determined by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee. The other "Great 8" quarterbacks in week two were: Austin Allen (Arkansas), Jake Browning (Washington), Joshua Dobbs (Tennessee), Quinton Flowers (USF), Skyler Howard (West Virginia), Patrick Mahomes (Texas Tech) and Cooper Rush (Central Michigan).

The Davey O'Brien Foundation is celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2016. The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award winner will be announced on Dec. 8 during ESPN's The Home Depot College Football Awards. The winner is not required to have won a weekly award during the season. A list of 16 semifinalists will be announced on Nov. 10, while the three finalists will be named on Nov. 22.

2016 Week-by-Week Winners:

Sept. 8 - Deondre Francois (Florida State)

Sept. 13 - Lamar Jackson (Louisville)