clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Devonte Fields named second team preseason All-American by CBS

Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

The preseason accolades continue to pile up for Devonte Fields heading into his second and final season as a Cardinal.

Also, how ridiculous is it to have a preseason coach of the year? Preseason player of the year awards are dumb enough, but predicting which coach is going to do the best job in the upcoming months is just ridiculous.

Regardless, here’s CBS’ list of preseason honors for the upcoming college football season which kicks off exactly one week from today.

Preseason Awards

Player of the Year: Deshaun Watson, QB, Clemson

Coach of the Year: Nick Saban, Alabama

Preseason All-America Teams

QB Deshaun Watson* Clemson Junior
RB Leonard Fournette* LSU Junior
RB Dalvin Cook Florida State Junior
WR JuJu Smith-Schuster* USC Junior
WR Calvin Ridley Alabama Sophomore
TE Jake Butt Michigan Senior
C Pat Elfein Ohio State Senior
OL Roderick Johnson* Florida State Junior
OL Cam Robinson Alabama Junior
OL Dan Feeney Indiana Senior
OL Zach Banner USC Senior
DE Myles Garrett* Texas A&M Junior
DE Jonathan Allen Alabama Senior
DT Malik McDowell Michigan State Junior
DT Carlos Watkins Clemson Senior
LB Raekwon McMillan Ohio State Junior
LB Jarrad Davis Florida Senior
LB Tim Williams Alabama Senior
CB Desmond King Iowa Senior
CB Jalen (Teez) Tabor Florida Junior
S Derwin James Florida State Sophomore
S Jamal Adams LSU Junior
K Andy Phillips Utah Senior
P JK Scott Alabama Junior
KR Evan Berry Tennessee Junior
PR Cameron Sutton Tennessee Senior
AP Christian McCaffrey Stanford Junior
* Denotes unanimous selection
QB Baker Mayfield Oklahoma Junior
RB Christian McCaffrey Stanford Junior
RB Royce Freeman Oregon Junior
WR Christian Kirk Texas A&M Sophomore
WR Corey Davis Western Michigan Senior
TE O.J. Howard Alabama Senior
C Brian Allen Michigan State Junior
OL Dan Voltz Wisconsin Junior
OL Mike McGlinchey Notre Dame Senior
OL Mitch Hyatt Clemson Sophomore
OL Conor McDermott UCLA Senior
DE Derek Barnett Tennessee Junior
DE DeMarcus Walker Florida State Senior
DT Eddie Vanderdoes UCLA Junior
DT Lowell Lotulelei Utah Junior
LB DeVonte Fields Louisville Senior
LB Reuben Foster Alabama Senior
LB Anthony Walker Northwestern Junior
Jabrill Peppers Michigan Junior
CB Jourdan Lewis Michigan Senior
CB Adoree Jackson USC Junior
S Budda Baker Washington Junior
S Marcus Maye Florida Senior
K Daniel Carlson Auburn Junior
P Austin Rehkow Idaho Senior
KR Rashaad Penny San Diego State Junior
PR William Likely Maryland Senior
AP Adoree Jackson USC Junior