clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Keith Kelsey, Devonte Fields named to Bednarik Award Watch List

Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Watch list season continues with the news that Louisville seniors Keith Kelsey and Devonte Fields have both been named to the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which is given annually to the best defensive player in college football.

Kelsey, a linebacker from Gainesville, Fla., led the Cardinals in tackles with 107 -€” the first player since Preston Brown in 2012 to record over 100 tackles in a season. Kelsey, a first team all-ACC selection, recorded a career-best 15 tackles versus Houston, registered 12.0 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks in guiding the Cardinals' defense to another top-20 finish.

A native of Fort Worth, Texas, Fields, who transferred from Trinity Valley Junior College, led the nation in tackles for loss per game at 1.73 and paced the Cardinals with 11.0 sacks -€” the highest total since Marcus Smith recorded 14.5 in 2013.

Here's the schedule for the release of preseason award watch lists moving forward:

July 5: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
July 6: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy 
July 7: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award 
July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy 
July 11: Jim Thorpe Award 
July 12: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award 
July 13: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy 
July 14: Davey O'Brien Award / Doak Walker Award 
July 15: Walter Camp Award / Paul Hornung Award