clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kelsi Worrell, Brendan McKay claim top honors at U of L's 'Louie Awards'

Erich Schlegel-USA TODAY Sports

U of L honored its top athletic performances of 2015-16 at the third annual "Louie Awards" show Monday night, and Cardinal swimmer Kelsi Worrell took home both the female athlete of the year award and the "Louisville First" award: the honor given to the student-athlete who exemplifies the meaning of the athletic department's culture of humble and hungry. Baseball standout Brendan McKay was honored as the male athlete of the year.

Here's the full list of awards and honors from Monday night:

adidas High Performance Athlete of the Year
Male: Brendan McKay (baseball)
Female: Kelsi Worrell (swimming and diving)

Louisville First Award
Kelsi Worrell (swimming and diving)

Inspiration Award
Damion Lee and Trey Lewis (men's basketball)

Darrell Griffith Award presented by Gatorade
Katie George (volleyball)

Record-Breaking Performance
Kelsi Worrell (swimming and diving)

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year
Corey Ray (baseball)

Best Championship Performance
Individual: Lamar Jackson (football)
Team: Men's Cross Country

Moment of the Year
Corey Ray (baseball; steals home to win game)

Upset of the Year
Women's Soccer (defeats No. 1 North Carolina on Oct. 8)

CardsCARE Individual
Male: Tim Kubel (men's soccer)
Female: Olivia Boesing (women's tennis)

Cardinal Dames CardsCARE Team

Cardinal Cup
Male: Men's Soccer
Female: Field Hockey

Cunningham Family Leadership Award
Male: Jerry Ramirez (soccer)

Central Cardinal Club Leadership Award
Female: Elisa Garcia (field hockey)

Spirit Award
Pep Band: Kristen Mitchell
Cheer: Jenee' Neal
Ladybirds: Sarah Pierce

Freshman of the Year
Male: Brendan McKay (baseball)
Female: Molly Sauer (volleyball), Mallory Comerford (swimming and diving)

Sophomore of the Year
Male: Ben Williams (track and field)
Female: Myisha Hines-Allen (basketball)

Junior of the Year
Male: Robin Sciot-Siegrist (golf)
Female: Kaylin Morissette (lacrosse)

Ed Kallay Senior of the Year
Male: Ernest Kibet (cross country), Sheldon Rankins (football)
Female: Katie George (volleyball)