clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ACC basketball awards and honors: Damion Lee named second team all-conference

Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

The ACC revealed its full list of postseason honors and awards for the 2015-16 season on Sunday, and Louisville star Damion Lee was named as a second team all-conference selection. Additionally, Chinanu Onuaku was named to the league's all-defensive team, and also got an honorable mention all-conference nod.

Six coaches received at least one vote for ACC Coach of the Year, and not one of them was Rick Pitino. Miami's Jim Larranaga received the award, while Virginia standout Malcolm Brogdon was named the conference's Player of the Year.

Here's the complete list of honorees as selected by the league's media:

All-Atlantic Coast Conference

First Team
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina 51 *255
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 51 *255
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 48 249
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 47 247
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 32 213

Second Team
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 8 155
Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami 6 136
Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame 3 130
Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke 4 129
Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville 1 90

Third Team
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech - 76
Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia - 70
Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame - 45
Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh - 37
Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami 3 35

Honorable Mention:
Justin Jackson, North Carolina; Tonye Jekiri, Miami; Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech; Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville; Marcus Paige, North Carolina; London Perrantes, Virginia; Devin Thomas, Wake Forest.

All-ACC Freshman Team
Brandon Ingram, Duke *51
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State 50
Malik Beasley, Florida State 49
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse 34
Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest 28

All-ACC Defensive Team
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 49
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami 39
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 36
Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson 30
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 27

ACC Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 38
Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina 9
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 3
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 1

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brandon Ingram, Duke 48
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State 1
Malik Beasley, Florida State 1
Malachi Richardson, Syracuse 1

ACC Coach of the Year
Jim Larrañaga, Miami 24
Buzz Williams, Virginia Tech 22
Tony Bennett, Virginia 2
Roy Williams, North Carolina 1
Brad Brownell, Clemson 1
Brian Gregory, Georgia Tech 1

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia 39
Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami 9
Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse 1
Marshall Plumlee, Sr., Duke 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Most Improved Player of the Year
Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson 21
Grayson Allen, So., Duke 15
Cat Barber, Jr., NC State 4
Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech 4
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami 2
Joel Berry, So., North Carolina 2
Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech 1
Dennis Clifford, Sr., Boston College 1
Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville 1

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina 19
Ja'Quan Newton, So., Miami 12
Luke Kennard, Fr., Duke 7
Tyler Lydon, Fr., Syracuse 6
Devon Bookert, Sr., Florida State 6
Sheldon Jeter, Jr., Pittsburgh 1

* Unanimous selection