clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lamar Jackson sweeps Maxwell and Walter Camp Player of the Year awards

Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

In one evening, Lamar Jackson became the first Louisville Cardinal ever to win a major college football player of the year award. And then he won another one.

The electric U of L quarterback won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, and then capped ESPN's College Football Awards Show by accepting the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to college football's best overall player.

The Maxwell Award typically serves as a solid indicator of who will win the Heisman Trophy, the award most expect Jackson to accept Saturday night in New York.

Here's the full list of awards that were handed out Thursday night:

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year): Lamar Jackson, Louisville

Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year): Lamar Jackson, Louisville

The Home Depot Award (Coach of the Year): Mike MacIntyre, Colorado

Davey O'Brien Award (Quarterback of the Year): Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Doak Walker (Premier Running Back): D'Onta Foreman, Texas

Biletnikoff Award (Outstanding Receiver): Dede Westbrook, OKlahoma

John Mackey Award (Best Tight End): Jake Butt, Michigan

Rimington Trophy (Best Center): Pat Elflein, Ohio State

Chuck Bednarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year): Jonathan Allen, Alabama

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Best Defensive Player): Jonathan Allen, Alabama

Butkus Award (Top linebacker): Reuben Foster, Alabama

Outland Trophy (Most Outstanding Interior Lineman): Cam Robinson, Alabama

Ted Hendricks Award (Defensive End of the Year) Jonathan Allen, Alabama

Jim Thorpe Award (Best Defensive Back): Adoree' Jackson, USC

Paul Hornung Award (Most Versatile Player): Jabrill Peppers, Michigan

Lou Groza Award (Outstanding Placekicker): Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State

Ray Guy Award (Punter of the Year): Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah

Frank Broyles Award (Top Assistant Coach): Brent Venables, Clemson

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Outstanding Senior Quarterback): Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Campbell Trophy (Top Scholar Athlete): Zach Terrell, Western Michigan

Disney Spirit Award (Inspirational Individual): James Conner, Pittsburgh

Wuerffel Trophy (Community Service): Trevor Knight, Texas A&M