clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Card Chronicle Person of the Year: The Finalists

Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

The winner, remember, will join this elite group:

2007 - Tom Jurich
2008 - David Padgett
2009 - Vacant
2010 - Charlie Strong
2011 - Charlie Strong and Preston Knowles (tie)
2012 - Tom Jurich
2013 - Teddy Bridgewater
2014 - Russ Smith
2015 - Kelsi Worrell

Voting will end in 24 hours. Here are the finalists you chose:


--Became Louisville's first Heisman Trophy winner after posting the most impressive single season effort in the history of Cardinal football.


--Were the two leading scorers on a Cardinal team that nearly won the ACC regular season title, but more importantly, they represented the program in the most positive way imaginable despite dealing with a horrible situation that they had no control over and nothing to do with.


--Represented U of L throughout the Olympic process and at the actual Olympic games in Brazil, where she earned a gold medal for the United States and for Cardinal swimming.


--The legacy and life of The Greatest brought not just the U of L community, but the entire city of Louisville together for one beautiful day in June.


--It may have been just one game, but Snider's 22-point performance against Kentucky gave Cardinal fans a win over their arch-rivals that they desperately needed.