clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Quentin Snider named Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week

Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

From U of L:

University of Louisville junior guard Quentin Snider has been honored as the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association for games ending the week of Sunday, Dec. 25.  The USBWA's weekly honor is presented by Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook.

In Louisville's only game last week, Snider was named the Most Valuable Player by the Bluegrass Sports Commission in UofL's 73-70 victory over then sixth-ranked Kentucky.  Snider delivered a career-best 22 points, grabbed a career-high matching six rebounds and handed out a game-high five assists as the sixth-ranked Cardinals won their sixth straight.

The 22 points for Snider were the most for a Louisville native against Kentucky since DeJuan Wheat's 23 points in an 88-86 win over the Wildcats on Jan. 1, 1995. He also had two steals against the Wildcats after producing a single steal in UofL's first 11 games.  Snider is fourth in the ACC and 35th in the nation in assist-turnover ratio (2.94).

Snider, who is averaging a team-high 11.9 points and 3.9 assists in Louisville's balanced lineup, is the first Cardinal to be honored with a weekly league award this season.  Snider will be back in action when Louisville plays its first ACC game of the season as No. 12/11 Virginia visits the KFC Yum! Center on Wednesday night at 7 p.m.

As the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Week, Snider was nominated for the weekly award, which was chosen by a representative of the USBWA board of directors from a list of Division I conference players of the week. This is the eighth season that the USBWA has selected a national player of the week.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

At the conclusion of the regular season, the USBWA will name finalists for the award, which is voted on by the entire membership.