clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lamar Jackson named finalist for Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards

Troy Taormina-USA TODAY Sports

Here's the release from ESPN:

The Home Depot College Football Awards will air on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 8, at 7 p.m. ET.  The show highlights the achievements of college football student-athletes in 2016. Twenty-four players were selected as finalists for the nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards given annually during the show.  The nominees will be featured during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on Tuesday, Nov. 22 at 3 p.m. ET on ESPNU.


NCFAA awards announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards:

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year
Jonathan Allen, Alabama (Sr.)
Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (So.)
Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)
Biletnikoff Award
Outstanding Receiver
Austin Carr, Northwestern (Jr.)
Zay Jones, East Carolina (Sr.)
Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma (RS Sr.)
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation's Outstanding Placekicker
Daniel Carlson, Auburn (Jr.)
Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State (Sr.)
Younghoe Koo, Georgia Southern (Sr.)
Ray Guy Award
College Punter of the Year
Michael Dickson, Texas (So.)
Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, (GS)
Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah, (So.)
Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year
Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)
Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)
Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation's Best Quarterback
Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)
Deshaun Watson, Clemson (Jr.)*
Outland Trophy
Nation's Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Pat Elflein, Ohio State (Sr.)
Cody O'Connell, Washington State (RS Jr.)
Cam Robinson, Alabama
Jim Thorpe Award
Nation's Best Defensive Back
Adoree' Jackson, USC (Jr.)
Jourdan Lewis, Michigan (Sr.)
Tre'Davious White, LSU (Sr.)
Doak Walker Award
Nation's Premier Running Back
Dalvin Cook, Florida State (Jr.)
D'Onta Foreman, Texas (Jr.)
Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State (Sr.)