clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jaire Alexander is a Jim Thorpe Award semifinalist

Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

In his first season as a starter in the Louisville secondary, Cardinal sophomore has been named one of the 16 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, which is given annually to the best defensive back in college football.

The three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Monday, Nov. 22 and the winner will be crowned at the College Football Awards on Dec. 8 airing on ESPN.

The full list of semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award can be seen below:

Jaire Alexander, Louisville, So.
Budda Baker, Washington, Jr.
Travon Blanchard, Baylor, Jr.
Justin Evans, Texas A&M, Sr.
Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama, So.
Malik Hooker, Ohio State, So.
Adoree' Jackson, USC, Jr.
Desmond King, Iowa, Sr.
Jourdan Lewis, Michigan, Sr.
Kai Nacua, BYU, Sr.
Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, Jr.
Weston Steelhammer, Air Force, Sr.
Cordrea Tankersley, Clemson, Sr.
Tre'Davious White, LSU, Sr.
Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
Andrew Wingard, Wyoming, Sr.

Alexander leads Louisville with three interceptions so far this season. He's also notched 23 tackles and forced a fumble.

Cardinal safety Gerod Holliman won the Jim Thorpe Award back in 2014.