clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Montrezl Harrell and Terry Rozier named USBWA All-District

Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Here's a portion of the release from U of L:

University of Louisville forward Montrezl Harrell and guard Terry Rozier have been named to the District IV U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District team. The 2014-15 all-district teams were voted on from the USBWA national membership of 900-plus. The USBWA has selected all-district teams since the 1956-57 season, its founding year.

Harrell is averaging 15.8 points (eighth in the ACC), 9.4 rebounds (second in the ACC, 28th in the nation) and is shooting 57.3 percent from the field (third in the ACC, 21st in the nation). He has produced a double-double in 12 games this season and on 24 occasions in his career, including his latest with 20 points, 12 rebounds, three assists, two steals and a blocked shot against Virginia on March 7. He has scored in double figures in 36 of his last 42 games, including 24 games with 15 points or more. He is among the ACC's active top five in career scoring, rebounds and blocked shots.

Rozier leads the Cardinals and is fourth in the ACC in scoring (17.0 ppg) and is second in the ACC in steals (2.0 spg). He is third in the ACC in scoring for league games only (17.0 ppg). He has scored in double figures in 28 games this season, including totaling 22 or more points in six ACC games. Twice named ACC Player of the Week, he has averaged 21.3 points in the Cards' 12 road or neutral site games, including 20 points in Louisville's nine conference road games.

For each of the nine geographic districts, 10 players are selected (11 in the case of ties) as well as a player and coach of the year. Four schools - Gonzaga (Kyle Wiltjer and Mark Few), Kentucky (Willie Cauley-Stein and John Calipari), Northern Iowa (Seth Tuttle and Ben Jacobson) and Wisconsin (Frank Kaminsky and Bo Ryan) - can boast the honor of having the district player and coach of the year. Villanova's Jay Wright (District II) and Tony Bennett (District III) have earned back-to-back District Coach of the Year honors.

District IV Team
(KY, TN, MS, AL, GA, FL)

Devin Booker, Kentucky
Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
Aaron Harrison, Kentucky
Stefan Moody, Ole Miss
Cameron Payne, Murray State
Josh Richardson, Tennessee
Terry Rozier, Louisville
Marcus Thornton, Georgia
Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky