clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Full 2016 Battle 4 Atlantis Field Announced

Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

We've known for a while now that the Louisville basketball team will be headed to the Bahamas a year from now to play in the 2016 Battle 4 Atlantis. Now we know the other seven teams who are going to be competing with the Cards for the tournament title.

Here's the full 2016 field:

Louisville Cardinals
Michigan State Spartans
VCU Rams
Baylor Bears
LSU Tigers
Wichita State Shockers
St. John's Red Storm
Old Dominion Monarchs

This will be Louisville's second appearance in the tournament, which debuted on Thanksgiving week in 2011. The Cards fell to Duke (without Gorgui Dieng) in the 2012 championship game, but went on to get revenge over the Blue Devils in the Elite 8.

In just four years, the Battle 4 Atlantis has featured one eventual national champion (Louisville, 2012-13), one eventual national finalist (Wisconsin, 2014-15), and a whopping 22 teams that have gone on to play in the NCAA Tournament. Syracuse just defeated No. 25 Texas A&M to claim the 2015 championship.