clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Now Accepting Nominations For The 2013-14 CC Least Cool Person Tournament

Dennis Wierzbicki-USA TODAY Spor

The end of the baseball season means the start of the reflection/preview period for most college sports communities in America, but here it means something else: the time to decide which person, place or thing was the least cool over the course of the past athletic season.

A CC tradition unlike any other, the least cool person tournament is back and now officially accepting nominations.

A few things to address before we get this ball rolling...

Past Champions

For the unfamiliar, here's the group of chotches this year's champion will be joining:

2007-08: Larry Taylor
2008-09: Mitch Barnhart
2009-10: Steve Kragthorpe
2010-11: Brandon Bender
2011-12: Doug Gottlieb
2012-13: Digger Phelps


We will be sticking with an 8-entity tournament for a second straight year, as once again, U of L has been too successful in an athletic season to generate too many uncool enemies.

Who Can Be Nominated?

Remember that despite the name of the tournament, the participants don't have to be actual people. Recent years have seen the field comprised of things like Central Florida and the John Wall Dance. Also, past champions and participants can absolutely be nominated.


I think there are three major storylines as we head into this year's tournament.

1) Can John Calipari extend his remarkable consecutive runner-up streak to five?

2) Will defending champion Digger Phelps extend his streak of being the only person to be included in every LCPT field?

3) Will a non-human break through for the very first time?

With all that out of the way, I will kick things off with the traditional first nomination by nominating Marc Summers for the tournament.

Feel free to share your nominee or nominees in the comments section. The field for this year's tournament will be announced on Wednesday, and the tournament will begin shortly after.