clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Burdi, Funkhouser, Gardner Named NCBWA All-Americans

Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

Congratulations are in order for Louisville's Nick Burdi, Jeff Gardner and Kyle Funkhuser, all of whom were named National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-Americans on Wednesday.

Burdi, who was selected by the Minnesota Twins with the 47th pick during last week's MLB Draft, was the lone Cardinal named to the first team. Funkhouser and Gardner, the AAC's Player of the Year, were both second team honorees.

In addition to his status as an All-American, Burdi is also a finalist for the NCBWA's Stopper of the Year award, the winner of which will be announced on Saturday.

Here's the full list of All-Americans:

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Max Pentecost Kennesaw State 6-1 190 Jr. Winder, Ga.
1B Casey Gillaspie Wichita State 6-4 238 Jr. Omaha, Neb.
2B Jace Conrad Louisiana 6-0 195 Jr. Lafayette, La.
3B Daniel Miles Tennessee Tech 6-2 190 Sr. Pascagoula, Miss.
SS Trea Turner N.C. State 6-1 171 Jr. Lake Worth. Fla.
OF Michael Conforto Oregon State 6-2 217 Jr. Woodinville, Wash.
OF Michael Katz William & Mary 6-3 220 Jr. Falls Church, Va.
OF Brandon Thomasson Tennessee Tech 6-4 218 Sr. Royal Palm Beach, Fla.
OF Drew Weeks North Florida 6-2 180 Jr. Green Cove Springs, Fla.
DH Derek Gibson Southeast Missouri State 6-3 225 Sr. Bonne Terre, Mo.
UT A.J. Reed Kentucky 6-4 240 Jr. Terre Haute, Ind.
SP Casey Bloomquist Cal Poly 6-3 180 So. Bakersfield, Calif.
SP Blake Fox Rice 6-4 220 So. Bellaire, Texas
SP Jace Fry Oregon State 6-0 197 Jr. Beaverton, Ore.
SP Aaron Nola LSU 6-1 196 Jr. Baton Rouge, La.
SP Ben Wetzler Oregon State 6-1 195 Sr. Clackamas, Ore.
RP Nick Burdi Louisville 6-4 215 Jr. Downers Grove, Ill.
RP Brendan McCurry Oklahoma State 5-10 159 Sr. Tupelo, Okla.
RP Sam Moore UC Irvine 6-1 200 Jr. Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif
Second Team: C Kyle Schwarber, Indiana, Jr.; 1B Matt Tellor, Southeast Missouri State, Sr.; 2B Ryan Seiz, Liberty, Jr.; 3B Dustin DeMuth, Indiana, Sr.; SS Dylan Bosheers, Tennessee Tech, Jr.; OF Caleb Adams, UL Lafayette, Jr.; OF Jeff Gardner, Louisville, Sr.; OF Chase Harris, New Mexico, Sr.; OF DJ Stewart, Florida State, So.; DH Bryan Soloman, Eastern Kentucky, Sr.; UT Aaron Brown, Pepperdine, Jr.; SP Joey DeNato, Indiana, Sr.; SP Brandon Finnegan, TCU, Jr.; SP Kyle Funkhouser, Louisville, So.; SP Matt Imhoff, Cal Poly, Jr.; SP Nathan Kirby, Virginia, So.; SP Preston Morrison, TCU, Jr.; RP Michael Cederoth, San Diego State, Jr.; RP Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State, Jr.; RP Joel Seddon, South Carolina, Jr.
Third Team: C Will Allen, Ole Miss, Sr.; 1B Connor Joe, San Diego, Jr.; 2B Mark Mathias, Cal Poly, So.; 3B Scott Schaub, Jacksonville, Sr.; SS Michael Russell, North Carolina, Jr.; OF Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss, Jr.; OF Casey Jones, Elon, Jr.; OF Chase Raffield, Georgia State, Sr.; OF Bradley Zimmer, San Francisco, Jr.; DH Blaise Salter, Michigan State, Jr.; UT Louie Lechich, San Diego, Sr.; SP Tyler Davis, Washington, Jr.; SP Thomas Eshelman, Cal State Fullerton, So.; SP Kyle Freeland, Evansville, Jr.; SP Andrew Morales, UC Irvine, Jr.; SP Michael Murray, Florida Gulf Coast, So.; SP Sam Street, Texas-Pan American, Sr.; RP Riley Ferrell, TCU, So.; RP Bryan Garcia, Miami, Fr.; RP Ryan Thompson, Campbell, Jr.; RP Ryan Williams, East Carolina, Sr.