clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ACC Votes To Keep 8-Game Conference Schedule


The ACC will continue playing eight conference football games per season, league commissioner John Swofford announced Monday.

The conference had been mulling a switch to a 9-game schedule, but instead chose to follow the SEC's lead in requiring each league member to play at least one game per season against another program from a "Power 5" (SEC, ACC, Big 12, Big 10, Pac-12) conference. The only difference between the ACC's and the SEC's ruling is that the ACC's requirement can also be satisfied with a non-conference game against Notre Dame. The requirement becomes effective during the 2017 season.

As far as Louisville is concerned, this ruling does little more than preserve its rivalry with Kentucky, which is technically an SEC program. Since the SEC made essentially the same ruling last month, it's safe to assume that the Cards and Cats will be meeting on the gridiron for the foreseeable future.