clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Russ Smith, Montrezl Harrell Named First Team All-AAC

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Louisville standouts Russ Smith and Montrezl Harrell were recognized on Tuesday by both being named to the 2014 American Athletic Conference All-Conference First Team, as voted by the league's 10 head coaches. Smith was one of three unanimous selections.

The Cardinal duo were joined on the first team by Shabazz Napier of Connecticut, Sean Kilpatrick of Cincinnati and Nic Moore of Southern Methodist.

While U of L did not have a representative on the league's second team, Terry Rozier was one of five players named to the AAC's All-Rookie Team.

The conference's major individual awards - Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year, Most Improved Player, Sixth Man Award and Sportsmanship Award - will be presented at an awards luncheon on Wednesday.

2014 American Athletic Conference All-Conference First Team
Sean Kilpatrick, G, Cincinnati *
Shabazz Napier, G, UConn *
Montrezl Harrell, F, Louisville
Russ Smith, G, Louisville *
Nic Moore, G, SMU

2014 American Athletic Conference All-Conference Second Team
Isaiah Sykes, G, UCF
Justin Jackson, F, Cincinnati
TaShawn Thomas, F, Houston
Shaq Goodwin, F, Memphis
Joe Jackson, G, Memphis
Markus Kennedy, F, SMU

2014 American Athletic Conference All-Rookie Team
Amida Brimah, C, UConn
Terry Rozier, G, Louisville
Austin Nichols, F, Memphis *
John Egbunu, C, USF
Chris Perry, F, USF

* unanimous selection