clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Montrezl Harrell Named Preseason First Team AP All-American

Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

For the second straight year, Louisville is home to a preseason first team Associated Press All-American.

A season ago, Russ Smith became the first Cardinal to be named a preseason first team All-American since the very first year the distinction existed (1986-87), when Pervis Ellison achieved the same feat. He went on to become U of L's first postseason first teamer since Clifford Rozier earned the honor at the end of the 1993-94 season.

Trez is joined on the first team by a pair of fellow ACC stars in North Carolina guard Marcus Paige and Duke freshman center Jahlil Okafor. Wichita State guard Fred VanVleet and Wisconsin big man Frank Kaminsky round out the team.

Harrell was the second leading vote-getter on the team, trailing only Paige.

2014-15 Preseason AP All-American Team

Marcus Paige, North Carolina (58 votes)

Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (56 votes)

Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (39 votes)

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State (37 votes)

Jahlil Okafor, Duke (29 votes)

Others receiving votes (alphabetical): Cliff Alexander, Kansas; Ron Baker, Wichita State; Ryan Boatright, UConn; Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia; Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky; Branden Dawson, Michigan State; Sam Dekker, Wisconsin; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Aaron Harrison, Kentucky; Andrew Harrison, Kentucky; Tyler Haws, BYU; Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, Arizona; Stanley Johnson, Arizona; Tyus Jones, Duke; Markus Kennedy, SMU; Caris LeVert, Michigan; Georges Niang, Iowa State; Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga; Terran Petteway, Nebraska; Alex Poythress, Kentucky; Chasson Randle, Stanford; Josh Scott, Colorado; Juwan Staten, West Virginia; Delon Wright, Utah.

Congrats to Trez on this huge honor.