clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Teddy Bridgewater Named A Manning Award Finalist

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

At least one major award gets it...even if it is one with 10 finalists and not three.

Here's a chunk the release:

University of Louisville junior quarterback Teddy Bridgewater was named one of the 10 finalists for the Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

The winner will be announced after the bowl season in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates' bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

Bridgewater, a native of Miami, Fla., has guided the Cardinals to a 10-1 record heading into the regular-season finale next Thursday versus Cincinnati. The Cardinals have recorded 10 or wins in consecutive seasons for the first time in school history.

Starting all 11 games, Bridgewater has thrown for 3,268 yards and 25 touchdowns, while tossing only three interceptions. He has tossed touchdown passes in 22 of the last 24 games and is averaging a career-high 297.1 yards passing per game.

He has six 300-yard passing games this year, including 397 yards against Eastern Kentucky and tossed five touchdowns in the season-opening win over Ohio.

The former Northwestern High product has thrown for 9,115 yards and 66 touchdowns in his illustrious career, while completing 68.2 percent of his passes.

The finalists for this year's Manning Award are:
Tajh Boyd, Sr., Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater, Jr., Louisville
Derek Carr, Sr., Fresno State
Jordan Lynch, Sr., Northern Illinois
Johnny Manziel, So., Texas A&M
Marcus Mariota, So., Oregon
AJ McCarron, Sr., Alabama
Aaron Murray, Sr., Georgia
Bryce Petty, Jr., Baylor
Jameis Winston, Fr., Florida State

The winner of the award will be announced on Jan. 8.