clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Russ, Trez Make Wooden Award Watch List

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

From U of L:

University of Louisville's Russ Smith and Montrezl Harrell are listed on the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced Tuesday afternoon from Los Angeles. Louisville is one of 10 schools with at least two candidates for the sport's prestigious honor.

It marks the second-consecutive year the Cardinals have placed at least two student-athletes on the list after populating last year's preseason top 50 with three.

Smith, a preseason Associated Press All-American, has received All-America accolades from Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook and The senior also was tabbed as the American Athletic Conference Preseason Player of the Year.

The Brooklyn, N.Y., native scored a game-high 21 in Louisville's season-opening victory against College of Charleston, going 7 of 17 from the field while also tallying five assists. His one steal put him in sole possession of 10th on the school's career steals chart at 184.

Last season, Smith averaged 18.7 points and 2.1 steals per game en route to being named the 2013 Ken Pomeroy National Player of the Year.

A sophomore, Harrell was recognized during the preseason after playing a pivotal role last year in the Cardinals' run to their third NCAA title in school history. A third-team preseason All-America selection by The Sporting News and a second-team choice by USA Today, Harrell was listed third in's Top 30 Breakout Players. He was a second-team all-American Athletic Conference selection by the league coaches.

Harrell had a productive season opener as well, nearly tallying a double-double with 10 points and eight rebounds. He also recorded four steals.

The Tarboro, N.C., native played in all 40 games last year, averaging 6.4 points and 3.2 rebounds in 14.8 minutes per game. He shot a solid 61.5 percent from the field and totaled a career-best 20 points to lead Louisville to a comeback victory over Syracuse for the BIG EAST Tournament title.

2013-14 John R. Wooden Award® Presented by Wendy's Preseason Top 50
Name School Conference Yr.
Jordan Adams UCLA Pac-12 So.
Kyle Anderson UCLA Pac-12 So.
Keith Appling Michigan State Big Ten Sr.
Isaiah Austin Baylor Big 12 So.
Jahii Carson Arizona State Pac-12 So.
Willie Cauley-Stein Kentucky SEC So.
Semaj Christon Xavier Big East So.
Aaron Craft Ohio State Big Ten Sr.
Sam Dekker Wisconsin Big Ten So.
Spencer Dinwiddie Colorado Pac-12 Jr.
Cleanthony Early Wichita State Missouri Valley Sr.
Joel Embiid Kansas Big 12 Fr.
C.J. Fair Syracuse ACC Sr.
Aaron Gordon Arizona Pac-12 Fr.
Jerian Grant Notre Dame ACC Sr.
Montrezl Harrell Louisville The American So.
Gary Harris Michigan State Big Ten So.
Joe Harris Virginia ACC Sr.
Andrew Harrison Kentucky SEC Fr.
Tyler Haws BYU WCC Jr.
Andre Hollins Minnesota Big Ten Jr.
Rodney Hood Duke ACC So.
Joe Jackson Memphis The American Sr.
Cory Jefferson Baylor Big 12 Sr.
Sean Kilpatrick Cincinnati The American Sr.
Alex Kirk New Mexico Mountain West Jr.
James Michael McAdoo North Carolina ACC Jr.
Doug McDermott Creighton Big East Sr.
Mitch McGary Michigan Big Ten So.
Jordan McRae Tennessee SEC Sr.
Shabazz Napier Connecticut The American Sr.
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga WCC Jr.
Jabari Parker Duke ACC Fr.
Adreian Payne Michigan State Big Ten Sr.
Elfrid Payton Louisiana Sun Belt Jr.
Dwight Powell Stanford Pac-12 Sr.
Julius Randle Kentucky SEC Fr.
Juvonte Reddic VCU Atlantic 10 Sr.
Glenn Robinson III Michigan Big Ten So.
LaQuinton Ross Ohio State Big Ten Jr.
Wayne Selden, Jr. Kansas Big 12 Fr.
Marcus Smart Oklahoma State Big 12 So.
Russ Smith Louisville The American Sr.
Jarnell Stokes Tennessee SEC Jr.
Rasheed Sulaimon Duke ACC So.
Noah Vonleh Indiana Big Ten Fr.
Dez Wells Maryland ACC Jr.
Andrew Wiggins Kansas Big 12 Fr.
Kendall Williams New Mexico Mountain West Sr.
James Young Kentucky SEC Fr.