clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Boise State, Houston, SMU And UCF To Join Big East In 2013

McMurphy's all over it.

Boise State, San Diego State, Houston, SMU and UCF will join the Big East Conference in 2013, sources told

The announcement is expected to be made on Wednesday.

Boise State and San Diego State will join the Big East as football-only members, while Houston, SMU and UCF will join as all-sport members.

With the addition of those five schools - minus the departures of West Virginia, Pittsburgh and Syracuse - the Big East will have 10 football members.

With those five schools on board, Navy is expected to join as a football-only member - possibly as soon as next week - to boost the football membership to 11 schools.

The Big East hopes to add Air Force as its 12th school, but the Falcons still remain undecided.

If the Big East can not get Air Force, Temple would be a likely candidate to become the Big East's 12th member.

Expected, but sadly this is probably the best case scenario for the league right now.