clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

12 Cardinals Named All-Big East, Carmody Screwed

The Big East conference released its annual postseason honors today, and while Louisville was well represented on the all-conference teams, one particular Cardinal kicking machine was inexplicably absent on the conference's award list.

Wide receiver Harry Douglas, offensive linemen George Bussey, Renardo Foster and Kurt Quarterman, defensive tackle Amobi Okoye, cornerback William Gay and kicker Art Carmody made the first team for U of L.

Okoye and West Virginia safety Eric Wicks were the only unanimous selections.

Well deserved sir, well deserved.

Five more Cards were named to the second team: receiver Mario Urrutia, center Eric Wood, quarterback Brian Brohm, linebacker Malik Jackson and safety Brandon Sharp. Brohm was the league's offensive player of the year in 2005.

In a bit of an upset in our eyes, West Virginia's Pat White took home Offensive PoY honors, Pitt linebacker HB Blades was the defensive player of the year and South Florida freshman QB Matt "Chotch McBride" Grothe was named the conference's top newcomer.

Rutgers' Greg Schiano was the choice for Big East coach of the year.

But in arguably the biggest joke in the history of awards, South Florida's Ean Randolph took home special teams player of the year honors over one Arthur G. Carmody (we're just guessing on the g, it seemed appropriate). That's the first strike Big East, please remember that we have the power to get this university into the ACC, SEC, or the PAC-10 (our West coast contacts are pretty outrageous) should we choose to. You don't embarrass us and we don't embarrass you that's how it works, now give Art his award.

We want the voting records revealed now.